Tim Holtz Tag – July

This months Tim Holtz tag has a patriotic theme.  I don’t have several of the items used, so I improvised with some other Tim Holtz products and some salvaged items.  I didn’t have the flag die cut, so I found some stars in my stash in a package of grunge-board  shapes.  I wanted the color to pop a bit more, so I added a coat of gesso before I painted them with the Crackle Paint.

DSC_0006

DSC_0017

DSC_0015

The last couple of months I’ve been exploring options for the base material of the tag.  I would like it to better withstand all the embellishments and ink that I add to it.  Standard card stock doesn’t stand up to the abuse I hand down.  This month, I used Grunge Paper, added a layer of Absorbent Ground, and instead of stamping it for the background, I dry embossed it for some texture.

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0018

I stamped the word “Thanks” on a piece of silver card stock, distressed the edges and added some eyelets.  The pointed hand is Hampton Arts, and it was stamped on card stock and framed.  I added everything with foam tape to give it some depth.

DSC_0011

The metal thingy was actually part of some packaging for a clock I purchased to alter at Hobby Lobby.  I never throw away metal bits.  In retrospect, I really should have distressed it.  Oh well.

DSC_0016

Thanks for looking!!  For all of you who stop by via Tim’s blog, I do make every attempt to comment on each and every one – but I know I miss a few (especially if the verification is on!  I can never seem to get past those for some silly reason).  Just please know that I do visit your site, and love all your work and thank you so much for sharing with the world!!

About Sam

A lover of crafts and art trapped in the mind of an accountant. My dream is to someday be set free of the cubicle prison. Meanwhile, I craft and I create to set my mind free.
This entry was posted in Ink, Tags and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tim Holtz Tag – July

  1. Elizabeth K says:

    Your distress crackle paint came out very well… I tried to hurry mine along and ended up getting a few bubbles that never cracked. I like how you framed the pointy finger. =^_^=

  2. Julie S says:

    This turned out beautifully! Great tag.

  3. This is awesome!!! You did a great job.

Leave a comment