She Rules

DSC_0001I love this photo.  It was taken in 1918.  I have no idea where, or who these ladies are.  They capture my imagination.  I wonder more about the personalities than the situation.  The one on the far right speaks to me the loudest.  She is the one I thought of while I made this journal page for the Lindy’s Stamp Gang Color Challenge. I confess, I struggled with the color palette, but only because I tried to use all the colors.

Look how yummy they all are:  e453c-april-14

So I used a crazy number of colors:  Salt Water Taffy Starburst, Curiouser Chartreuse Flat Fabio, Rusty Lantern Lime Starburst, Sea Grass Green Starburst, Azure Sea Asters Starburst, Whale Watch Blue Starburst, Bachelor Button Blue Starburst, and my favorite Cocoa Bean Copper Starburst.  I really need to get some yellow!  You may be asking yourself, “Where are all those colors?”.  The pink is in the burlap.  The Bachelor Button is the darker blue around the edges in the highlight on the crackle sky.  The Whale Watch Blue is the white bird.  The greens are layered.  My subject matter was inspired by the challenge over at Our Creative Corner – With a Song in Your Heart.  I also need to give a nod to Rachel Black who has been posting on her YouTube channel a lot of inspiration lately on this very subject.  If you don’t follow Rachel yet, you should.  See her great work here:  RachO113.

DSC_0007The song lyrics I chose are from Rhiannon by Stevie Nicks.  Ladies, just think how far we have come from 1918, and think how far we have to go.  I copied the photo onto a manila folder to give it that lovely sepia tone.  Besides using LSG inks, I also used Ranger inks, both Distress and Archival.  DSC_0006The texture was made with Liquitex Modeling Paste and a wonderful stencil from Prima.  DSC_0003I added some rubons from my stash and some stamping for interest.  If you see the text in background that is because this is in my art journal book that is actually the novel The Ides of March.  And for some reason now, I really want to read it.DSC_0004 I used a dry embossing folder from Cuttlebug and some die cuts from Sizzix too.  Thanks for stopping by!

About Sam

A lover of crafts and art trapped in the mind of an accountant. My dream is to someday be set free of the cubicle prison. Meanwhile, I craft and I create to set my mind free.
This entry was posted in Altered Art, Art Journal, Collage, Die Cut, emboss, Ink, Mixed Media, Stamp, Stencil and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to She Rules

  1. Soooo beautiful! You have done that enchanting and fascinating old photograph justice by “framing” it so artistically! Brilliant texture and stunning colours! Thank you so much for sharing this awesome spread with us at Our Creative Corner!

    Claudia x

  2. butterfly says:

    What an absolutely beautiful interpretation of the song lyrics – and an altogether gorgeous page. A wonderful photo, glorious colours and textures… I love it. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Our Creative Corner.
    Alison x

  3. ljbudd says:

    I love this. Every time it look at it I notice something else!

Leave a comment